DIY Pearl Jean Jacket

Fast fashion is one of the largest contributors to landfill waste. 85% of our old clothes end up in a landfill. In North American that equates to about 25 BILLION tons per year of textile waste. For Earth Day this year I decided to plan goals for myself to create a more sustainable and eco-friendly lifestyle. Instead of throwing out your unwanted clothes, donate them to a charitable organization or maybe a friend wants them! As part of my goals this year, I decided to repurpose an old jean jacket by adding pearls and creating an entirely new look. Check out how I repurposed my jacket and let me know if you try this. Have fun!

BEFORE
AFTER

Step 1: Gather your Materials

Grab the clothing item you are using, white or clear sewing thread, a needle and scissors, and whatever size pearls you are using. (I used 6mm and 8mm pearl beads)

Step 2: Start Sewing your Pearls on

Using a needle and thread start sewing each individual pearl on to the jacket. I did some different sized groups of beads, mixing up both size pearls. Make sure to knot the thread in the back at least 2 or 3 times. (I also knotted multiple strings together for more durability)

Step 3: Continue Step 2 Until Complete

Continue with step 2 on both sides or wherever you would like on the jacket, until it is complete. Make sure to lightly tug on each pearl as you go make sure it is secure.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.